Clinician Well-Being and Resilience: What the Data Show and How We Move Forward - September 15

Hosted by the AAMC’s Research on Care Community (ROCC) and Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS)

As the COVID-19 public health emergency continues, academic clinicians face unique challenges as they juggle clinical, research, and administrative stressors. In this webinar, Dr. Bernard Chang of Columbia University Irving Medical Center will discuss the body of research on the results of stress on mental and physical health, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on clinician well-being. Dr. Chang will also highlight steps academic health centers can take to mitigate the negative impacts of stress across clinical, research, and educational missions. 

A Q&A session following the presentation will be moderated by Dr. Mona Abaza of the University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus, and Chair of the AAMC’s CFAS Faculty Resilience Committee. 

Bernard P. Chang, MD, PhD

Vice Chair of Research, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Department of Emergency Medicine, Columbia University Irving Medical Center

Bernard P. Chang, MD, PhD, is the Vice Chair of Research and Associate Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Columbia University. Trained as a psychologist and an emergency physician, he has become a national leader on patient and clinician mental health. As an investigator, he has pioneered the relationships between psychological health and physical health, publishing on the impact of clinician burnout on cardiovascular health in providers. His research on clinician mental health has been supported at the institutional, state, and federal level, and he is currently the Principal Investigator of one of the nation’s largest longitudinal studies on emergency clinician long-term psychological and physical health. His advocacy for clinician well-being has also driven his advocacy efforts at the state and national level. As a member of the Board of Directors at American College of Physicians-New York Chapter, he has helped stimulate efforts aimed at supporting clinician mental health, while his committee work on ACEP and SAEM has focused on highlighting the need for clinician psychological support. He received his PhD from Harvard in psychology, his MD from Stanford and completed his Emergency Medicine residency training at the Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency at Massachusetts General Hospital and Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Prior to going to medical school, he served as a professional sailboat captain and crew doing yacht deliveries internationally.

Mona M. Abaza, MD, MS (Moderator)

Chair, AAMC CFAS Faculty Resilience Committee
Vice Chair, Faculty Affairs and Diversity
Professor, Department of Otolaryngology, University of Colorado School of Medicine

Dr. Mona M. Abaza is a Professor and Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs and Diversity for the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Colorado, School of Medicine. A board-certified and Laryngology fellowship-trained Otolaryngologist, she received her medical degree from The Women’s Medical College of Pennsylvania (now Drexel University). She completed her Otolaryngology residency at the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in San Antonio and then completed her Laryngology fellowship at Graduate Hospital and Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA. She maintains active interest in professional voice research as a peer-elected member of the International Association of Phonosurgeons, the American Bronch-esophagology Association, the Triological Society and the American Laryngological Association. She is very active in medical education, completing a Master of Science in Higher Education at Drexel University School of Education in 2010. She is a member of the University of Colorado School of Medicine’s Academy of Medical Educators and runs its Teaching Certificate Program. She held the position of Associate Residency Program Director/Program Director for Otolaryngology for over 18 years, stepping down in 2018 to take the Vice Chair position. She is the Past Chair of the Otolaryngology Program Director Organization (OPDO) and a second term Administrative Board member for the Council of Faculty and Academic Societies (CFAS) of the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC), where she chairs the Faculty Resilience Committee. She also passionately works to improve women’s leadership development in her specialty and academic medicine as a whole. She was a founding member of the governing council of the women’s section of her national academy, past chair of the section, and developed and ran a leadership development program.  She is the founder and President of the Otolaryngology Women’s Leadership Society, developed to expand the leadership program and networking opportunities for women in her specialty.

Components visible upon registration.